Skip to content

Summer Training @ Futureware: Days 12 & 13

July 18, 2007

This has been the summer of BIG surprises for me!

On Sunday morning, I was trying to find my way through the database on my own. It just seemed like it was designed to make the task of building a cube out of it almost impossible! I stayed in the company during the lunch break trying to figure out how to build the damn cube. Eventually, I got tiered and went out to get something to eat. When I arrived at the restaurant, I was surprised to see a dear friend of mine who I haven’t seen in a long time. After we had lunch together, I returned to the company and called our Team Leader seeking assistance and clarifications regarding the database.

On Monday, I continued my struggle with the database. The exposure to such a database made it clear to me that I need a deeper understanding of measures and dimensions. After the lunch break, I updated the Managing Director with my status. He gave me access to the eBooks he purchased regarding SSAS: “Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Analysis Services” by Edward Melomed, Irina Gorbach, Alexander Berger and Py Bateman; and “Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Analysis Services Step by Step” by Reed Jacobson, Stacia Misner and Hitachi Consulting.

It seems that I have to go back and do some research/reading again before getting my hands dirty with the database šŸ™‚

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

