Skip to content

Summer Training @ Futureware: Days 10 & 11

July 18, 2007

My first visit to Aramco, EVER!

On Wednesday, the Managing Director came to our office and told me that our Team Leader in Aramco had a specific work plan for me. He also told me that I won’t be working in Aramco, but rather I’ll go there only when I need to see the Team Leader (this is more suitable for me). He told one of my colleagues that he will be an official part of the team, i.e. he will work at Aramco every day.

On Saturday morning, we went to Aramco. I couldn’t believe how HUGE it was! (and I thought that KFUPM was big 🙂 ). I also noticed that there is much green grass all over the place. We first met with the Team Leader who gave us an overview of the system and its organization. Then, he introduced the database schema to me and then left me to play around with it. I was totally overwhelmed by the complexity of the database! Fortunately, we got the chance to take a tee break 🙂 . In the afternoon, I met the Team Leader again to ask him some questions about the schema. We didn’t leave until after 6:00 p.m.! (thank God I won’t be working there all the time)

From the first moment I saw the schema, I knew that there will be a lot of work waiting for me. I just hope that I’ll be able to handle the pressure.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

