Skip to content

Summer Training @ Futureware: Day 9

July 12, 2007

A smashed tutorial, a surprise visit from a “virtual” friend and a crowded lunch party!

YES! AT LAST! I have finished the SSAS tutorial. I just can’t wait till I get my hands on the real database to see if I have learned anything! Until that happens, I’ll work with yet another tutorial: the Data Mining Tutorial (you gotta be kidding me!).

In the morning, I was alone in our office (my summer training colleagues had some urgent business in the university). Someone came in, and when I looked up to see his face I was completely shocked! It was no one other than Zahid Ayar! I only knew him through Facebook and I never imagined that I’ll see him face to face. He graduated from KFUPM and worked for sometime at Futureware. It was really nice to meet him in person.

In the afternoon, the company got another “surprise” visit. This time it was from Aramco. The place get quite crowded (our colleagues working inside Aramco came too). After the “outsiders” left, it was party time! We got the chance to have lunch with all employees (for free, of course 🙂 ).

I sent an email to the Managing Director that contained a link to the book I have chosen. It is “Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Analysis Services Step by Step” by Reed Jacobson, Stacia Misner and Hitachi Consulting. I think it is the right book because it gives a step-by-step procedures that is easy to follow in addition to explaining Analysis Services concepts.

The Managing Director told me that I’ll most probably be working with the real database from inside Futureware. The Project Manager told me that they will migrate the schema and a subset of the data to the company so that I can experiment with it.

I need a good rest now, because that was too much action for one day! 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

