Skip to content

Live Earth: A Climate SOS

July 8, 2007

The Live Earth concerts surely got my attention, especially when I knew that Yusuf Islam will be there!

Yusuf-Live-Earth

The aim of the concerts was to raise awareness around the world about global warming and to encourage people to live “greener” lives. I got the chance to see some live online video streams of the concerts throughout the day. For me, it wasn’t just about the music. There was a separate channel streaming environmental information all the time. In addition, there were many ads showing how to take some small actions that will slow down global warming.

Because I believe that small changes can make a big difference, I answered the call and made a commitment:

  1. I will shut off my equipment and lights whenever I’m not using them.
  2. I will ride public transit or carpool one or more times per week.

I usually turn off lights and equipments whenever I’m not using them (I think that you do that too), but now I’ll pay more attention to appliances that are on standby mode and I’ll unplug them whenever they are not needed (see Phantom load).

I have some concerns about using public transportation. In Syria, I think that public transportation have a major role in polluting the air and raising the temperature (If you ever saw the smog clouds that cover Damascus in the morning, you’ll understand what I mean). In Saudi Arabia, there isn’t much of public transportation. I can’t use a bike either because it is too damn hot most of the time. So, carpooling seems like a good option. I’m not sure if I can do it on a weekly bases but I’ll try my best.

Apart from the discussion about whether huge concerts are the right way to “raise awareness” or not, I’ll do whatever I can to help save our planet. I hope that you will do that too šŸ™‚

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

