Skip to content

Summer Training @ Futureware: Day 1

July 1, 2007

Rise & shine, Yaser. Today is a big day!” I told myself while I was waking up this morning. I knew that it will be a big day because it was my first day in the summer training program. I knew that it will be a totally new experience working with not just any company, but with Futureware IT.

I left my home early in order to arrive at 8 O’clock, but I arrived late 10 minutes (I got lost! How embarrassing!). Surprisingly, there was nobody home! (with the exception of my summer training colleagues). Maybe I arrived early after all and I didn’t notice it because I was too excited. Or maybe my watch was traveling forward in time. Anyway, other employees started to arrive after 5 minutes.

After our supervisor arrived, he gave us a little tour around the company. They were in the middle of preparing new apartments to be used as new offices. It was quite a mess and we could see why the developers were sitting in the conference room with their laptops. The preparation process was supposed to be finished during the last week but there were some delays. Hopefully, as our supervisor said, the new offices shall be ready in a day or two.

Because of that mess, there was nothing for us to do. On top of that, we couldn’t use our PC’s (which were prepared by the network administrator in the same day) to surf the Internet because there was no network connection in our “temporary” office yet. So, we spent the time talking to each other and playing Solitaire!

Things got really interesting when we met with the general manager in the afternoon. He gave us a brief description of the projects/products we were expected to work on, and let me tell you, these are really challenging/interesting projects. The message was clear to us: there is a lot of work to do and we will never, ever have a day like the first one!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2007 9:53 am

    you forgot opening the window to get warm and the tea break…. 🙂

  2. yaserxp permalink
    July 11, 2007 4:31 pm

    You are right!

    I surly miss our heater (the window)!
    The tee breaks were nice too, but I’m not sure that we’ll have any of them when we go to Aramco 🙂

Leave a Reply

